Alexander Hamilton

MY NAME IS ALEXANDER HAMILTON

THERE’S A MILLION THINGS I HAVEN’T DONE

JUST YOU WAIIIIIIITTTTT

~

My eighth grade social studies teacher made me listen. Blame her.

(non-Americans, you’re getting a semi-crash course in early American history.)

~

I’m telling you my weird life stories again.

At my school in eighth grade we do American history. So we learn about the Declaration of Independence (1776) / colonies (which is earlier than the declaration. I suck at time) and get up to approximately before WWI.

When we did the Revolutionary War I fell in love with Hamilton (the guy. came to America from Caribbean, embodies social mobility. Secretary of treasury, wrote stuff for George Washington, genius writer like HOW). This was BEFORE I was really active on the Internet and I’d never even heard of Lin-Manuel Miranda. Though my teacher showed the class him rapping Alexander Hamilton (the song) at the White House.

(huh I’m actually using semi-decent punctuation in this)

Then we got to the bit about the Hamilton / Burr duel in the textbook. (spoilers: hamilton dies. burr shoots him)

My main reaction was NO WHY *throws textbook at history*

(I had a conversation about Favorite Revolutionary War Person with a friend. It [part of it] went like this:

Friend: If you like Hamilton then you don’t like Aaron Burr
Me: why
Friend: He’s the guy who killed him
Me: *stabs*

…something like that. Because, you know, I suck utterly at names and I forgot that guy’s name because I think that was one of the few places it showed up.)

Then the book blog community yelled at each other some about Hamilton. I wondered if I could just listen and understand. I consulted my teacher about six? three? seventeen thousand? months later recently and she fangirled and told me to LISTEN. NOW. IT’S ONLY TWO HOURS AND 44 MINUTES.

So now I’m listening to it. (Not actually right now. Right now I’m listening to Gravity by the Dresden Dolls. It is a good song about gravity and flying and things.)

(Actually I’m not really sure what it’s about. But it’s good. Also it’s loud.)

(now it’s ruby blue [cover by sleeping at last not the original] because I forgot what I was going to say next)

OH THAT

Um.

I MIGHT BE OBSESSED.

Also, trying to learn all the songs on the ukulele.

(now the song’s Yellow Flicker Beat. Lorde.) (I have weird music taste can you tell)

ALSO I AM NOT ACTUALLY CAPABLE OF WORKING AND LISTENING TO THIS MUSICAL AT THE SAME TIME SO I CAN’T ADD IT TO MY ALL THE SONGS PLAYLIST AND I DESPAIR

Cynthia’s English listening skills = -1238192380192380192831.

BUT IT IS A GOOD MUSICAL AND HOW DOES ONE EVEN WRITE THIS AND CAN I STEAL LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA’S BRAIN PLEASE

(now it’s an ad) (spotify T_T)

~

Quick rant about Ham4ham.

NINJA GIGS. AMANDA PALMER. WE NEED AN ART COLLISION NOW.

(ninja gigs being random practically unplanned amanda palmer shows, free, all ages)

(Amanda Palmer’s music… https://amandapalmer.bandcamp.com no i’m not going to stop yelling at you to listen i like doing this)

~

Quick rant about education.

I mean, you could teach SO MANY PEOPLE this way. By turning history into an actual story with dialogue and characters and things instead of textbooks. WE SHOULD MAKE THIS A THING.

~

Hamilton and a
ukulele. Nothing could
possibly go wrong.

~

Actually I kind of want to know: how much American history are non-Americans aware of? and DO YOU LIKE HAMILTON? 😀

4 thoughts on “Alexander Hamilton”

  1. Your social studies teacher is very very cool! Mine was very weird and played us illegally downloaded movies with Korean subtitles. It was odd. BUT YES HAMILTON IS SO GREAT ❤ ❤ ❤ At my school we would, in eighth grade, study Georgia? It was really weird. (and due to my not-caring teacher, we only learned about half of what we were supposed to know.) So I know the beginning of American history, at least entirely centered on Georgia. *shrugs*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also think your social studies teacher was very weird. And not that great. *shakes fist*

      Dangit I know nothing about Georgia. Except YOUR CAPITAL’S ATLANTA! I AM DEEPLY SMART! (…………) TELL MEEEE!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

