A Rare Review: A Gathering of Shadows

So I went to the library and I got approximately THE BEST HAUL EVER

IMG_0003

(see it’s a perfectly satisfactory photo taken with a point-and-shoot and library books)

But this is a review of AGOS…

~

The five second review:

THROW IT AT SOMETHING.

IMG_0004

Longer review: OH MY GODS HOW DO I ALIVE

This is the second book. I didn’t review the first book. Here are my feelings about the first book:

I read it as an ebook and did not enjoy it all that much* (BUT IT WAS STILL INCREDIBLE LIKE ASFKLJAHLDSFKJASHDFLKJAHDFKLJASHFKAJSHDFKJAHDFKJDASHF).

A Darker Shade of Magic (I always mix up the titles) is painful and has lots of death and suffering and KELL AND RHY AND LILAAAAAAAAA

also might i mention how I LOVE THE NAME DELILAH BARD SO MUCH

and the coats

* as much as I would have liked ;_______;

Back to AGOS!

Likewise, this time: KELL AND RHY AND LILAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH

I spent the entire last part wiggling my toes in anticipation and foreshadowing. LITERALLY wiggling my toes.

AND CLIFFHANGERS *stabs everything* I haven’t needed to throw a book so hard since Low Key Lyesmith in American Gods. The part in the exact center of the continental U.S. The hotel. YOU KNOW WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT.

I started it last night and stayed up until one reading. Then my parents woke me up at six in the morning because they were arguing about what color to paint walls (we’re rebuilding our house which is a pain in the butt but also means I’m a lot closer to school and don’t need to walk as much). I couldn’t fall asleep again so I finished it.

Then I died.

Then I revived and tried to draw Lila, failed, failed to go back to sleep, and offered to throw it at my sister.

This book was so satisfying.

I THROW IT AT ALL OF YOU but wait that would spoil the first book if you haven’t read it

I THROW ALL THE BOOKS AT ALL OF YOU

All the stars.

And a supernova.

And a few black holes.

*SCREAMS*

~

Oh also I owe you haikus.

Throwing books is an
excellent passtime that is
quite underrated.

I’m really sorry
that this blog lacks chocolate.
Still working on it.

4 thoughts on “A Rare Review: A Gathering of Shadows”

  1. I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH OMG. LET ME FLAIL WITH YOU AHHHHH. Can I have Kell’s coat though? Like if there’s only one thing I can take away from this book is — I want Kell’s COAT BADLY. XD
    And omg you do have an amazing library haul! I loved Under a Painted Sky and I can’t wait to read Anatomy of Curiosity! and The Unbound! 😀
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES I NEED THE COAT DESPERATELY TOOOO
      GIVE ME THE COAT AND I SHALL BE HAPPY
      *flails alongside*

      though have you read The Curiosities (the other short story collection)? I kind of like that one better…

      Like

    1. Ah dangit I did that thing where I mixed up the two books again and felt the need to protest because LILA!
      Yes. Kell. Rhy. COATS. It gets better in the next book. Though maybe that’s because I read the ebook?

      *blames everything on the ebooks*

      ARGH I need to reread ADSOM

      Like

Leave a Reply

