What I have done during April

april2016

spoilers: not very much Camp NaNo.

This month was not a good writing month. Neither was it a good school month. It was not a good month in general.

May may continue being not a good month.

Bob, where Joe had had “had,” had had “had had;” “had had” had had the teacher’s approval.

I keep misspelling “month” “moth.”

I did work on Camp NaNoWriMo. I have a) edited about two chapters of On The Other End, b) wrote about six chapters of the New Thing, c) wrote a lot of weird stuff for the First Site, d) wrote a song, and e) knitted a shawl.

^^ Me looking creepy with a shawl

I’ll put the pattern up here and offer advice. I am also practically out of yarn, so don’t expect many more kfpps until I get more… (two more, to be exact. ish. Possibly.)

Pretty much: it was a good art month. Probably because I was procrastinating HARD on that camp NaNo.

~

Weird bits from the Camp NaNo stuff that I like…

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 10.23.57 AM

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 1.57.05 PM
okay so in eighth grade I had 3rd period language arts… oops

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 5.19.41 PM

Don’t tell my eighth grade language arts teacher this is what i think he does in his free time

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.19.11 PM

(obv. I like Loki a lot)

(I don’t think you get that)

(also because Loki’s a language arts teacher his alter ego is Mr. Gray and Miranda’s one of his students and that’s why she calls him Mr. Gray)

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 11.47.57 PM

^^ what was I even thinking

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 11.48.36 PM

^^ me, always

Favorite things I wrote:

A memory from when I was smaller and spending the summer in China: https://cynthiaiswritingnow.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/ripples/

A sonnet: https://cynthiaiswritingnow.wordpress.com/2016/04/10/pineapple-love-sonnet/

A poem about umbrellas because I have an obsession with them: https://cynthiaiswritingnow.wordpress.com/2016/04/08/umbrellagirl/

A really sad thing 😀 : https://cynthiaiswritingnow.wordpress.com/2016/04/02/atlas/

Also, I wrote a poem with a lot of swearing in it (I do swear. Occasionally. Mostly at night. i didn’t post it but can if you want me to) and the biography of one of my Twitter friends…

Once upon a pineapple bush forest there lived a chipmunk. The chipmunk liked eating the pineapples. Until one day, the pineapple grew spines and the chipmunk ate it and died. Then the chipmunk became a zombie chipmunk and took over the world. The end.

~

I also experienced an emotional meltdown somewhere around the end of spring break, which is why the song exists. I still haven’t quite recovered and am spending my time swinging between depression and happiness (you guys restore my faith in humanity when you read and like and comment because dangit i want to be seen) and tears and laughter and getting mad at things and swearing.

Do you mind if I swear?

I also binge-bought Amanda Palmer sheet music (because I do that when I need Good Songs to bang into the piano) (i think it may be forever damaged by my method of playing The Sheep Song) and can now play about one of them decently, two badly, and everything else alkdjfhakjfhalkdfh-ly. Two are not yet printed. Maybe I’ll record my covers.

Are you interested in listening to me belt out The Sheep Song (https://play.spotify.com/album/52cCSY1N2BzZaAeOpIZ0rO, the second-to-last song because Spotify REFUSES to let me copy the url) (it’s loud) by the Dresden Dolls at the top of my lungs?

~

I prefer silence.

I prefer the dark, and being alone.

I prefer fire and night.

I prefer being small and strange.

I prefer being noticed.

I prefer being read.

I prefer real friendship.

I prefer staying awake.

I prefer people to inanimate objects, I think.

I prefer not failing.

I prefer books.

I prefer purple.

I prefer speaking up when I know something and not when I don’t.

I prefer being brave.

I prefer dancing.

I prefer speaking quietly because doing otherwise means my voice hurts.

I prefer knowing why.

I prefer hugs.

I prefer buttons to zippers and shawls to scarves and socks.

I prefer warmth.

I prefer space between lines and listening.

I prefer love.

I prefer knowing you’re there.

~

(poem based off Possibilities by Wislawa Szymborska, which is a poem as well, though more well known and longer)

~

And then my friend gifted me a copy of Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman and ALDKFJAHSDFLKJAHSDLFKJASDHF I CAN NOT COMPREHEND THIS

ANANSIBOYS

(Anansi Boys was the first Neil Gaiman thing I met if you don’t count the movie Coraline and ALKJDFHAKSJDFH THIS IS THE BEST

BOOK

IN

THE

UNIVERSE)

And I shall be ordering a ukulele. It says it’ll ship in 1 – 3 months. Let the waiting commence.

DANGIT I WANT A UKULELE

NOW

~

Bloggish stuff:

So I want to combine this blog with my writing blog (https://cynthiaiswritingnow.wordpress.com if you haven’t checked it out before). It would be a whole lot easier to organize, and a lot of you follow both already I think?, and it gets weird if I make the same announcement on both and you follow both…

But it wouldn’t be nice to the people who ONLY want the writing or ONLY want the blog posts, so.

I don’t know. I asked Twitter and most of it said YES YOU SHOULD CYNTHIA, but you’re the readers. Opinions?

Also, I hate scheduling posts so much I may murder them.

8 thoughts on “What I have done during April”

  1. I’m sorry that the month was not so great, but it looks like you managed to have a lot of fun with it even still! POINTS FOR KNOWING ANANSI BOYS IS THE BEST NEIL GAIMAN BOOK (if, you know, you HAD to pick a best) Way to go trying for Camp NaNoWriMo! I should figure out what *I* did in April. (Spoiler: basically nothing but getting ready for the book release next (yikes!) week!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

