Kfpp: Increase / Decrease stitch

The author is not responsible for any injuries, illness, and/or death related to kniting, including but not limited to stabbing self with needle, strangulation by yarn, irritation due to type of yarn used, pummeling by others due to being scared by the knitter’s trying to figure out how exactly their sweater was knitted.

~

Sorry I haven’t done a knitting post in a long time. Next one shall be DPNs, which are amazing. Also, theoretical introduction to circular knitting needles? No idea how to do that, given that I don’t actually have circular knitting needles. *thinks very hard*

*brain explodes*

Increasing first? Decreasing?

Increasing will look better. Increasing it is.

~

Start the increasing stitch like any normal stitch but don’t pull the original stitch off the left needle.

IMG_0002

Move the yarn to the other side of the needle. I’m moving it to the back because I’m purling; if you’re knitting, the yarn should already be in the back.

IMG_0003

Do the OPPOSITE stitch as normal. Meaning, if you started with purl, do a knit stitch (sigh). If you started with knit, do a purl.

IMG_0004

Now you can remove the old stitch from the left needle and continue.

IMG_0006

 

This is called a bar increase because of the horizontal line it leaves behind:

~

Decreasing is easier. You just take two stitches and knit them together. All my pictures after this one were blurry, so you just have the first one:

IMG_0013

IMG_0017

Yep. That’s all I have to say about increasing and decreasing. It’s fairly simple, I think. I don’t have a pattern for you this time, but next post—

I SHALL BE A MAGICAL DRAGON AND YOU SHALL LEARN HOW TO KNIT SOCKS

~

Socks are good until
they get wet, in which case you
should get another pair.

3 thoughts on “Kfpp: Increase / Decrease stitch”

      1. That’s OK. I think such efforts at a very unfamiliar traditional craft need to be supported to keep these crafts alive. I applaud you for sticking at your knitting so well. I remember my mother trying to teach our left handed sister to knit, so I know how hard it can be.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

