The Traditional NaNoWriMo Post

Whee. NaNoWriMo. The month in which crazy people write a novel in a month. Also, the week before, and all the things writers post on how to survive it.

This is not one of those posts, mainly because I don’t know how to survive NaNoWriMo. I know how to not survive it.

Storytime: Last year. November. A week in.

I started my story late with no planning whatsoever, which I am utterly sure is a plan for disaster. I had heard about NaNoWriMo (abeit a week late) because some of my friends’ teacher makes them do it. She still does. It was about fairies and magic and everything an eight-grade fantasy writer writes about. There was a leprechaun. I wanted to make a conlang for it (conlang = constructed language).

I got 2049 words done in a week, because I’m definitely a) a fast writer and b) productive.

Then my computer crashed. I lost all my files, including my NaNoWriMo doc. I hadn’t put it on Drive, and I hadn’t put it anywhere else on the Internet.

So I rage quit. There was no way I could write a novel from scratch in two weeks. Which lends the following note-to-self-and-anyone-else-who-happens-to-want-this-note:

Plan long novels out and they won’t teeter into nothingness. (I’ve done this another time. That story failed as well.)

Always keep an extra copy somewhere accessible from the Internet.

Write faster, Cynthia, for heaven’s sake.

And that’s all the advice I can give people.

Right.

~

I have no idea

how people manage to write

a novel in a month.

Leave a Reply

